AOL MediaSpace UK

FAQ

Below is a list of FAQs which should answer some basic queries you may have about advertising on the AOL Service.

If we can help you with anything else, please contact us.

Q: What is a page impression?
A: Every time a new page is served to a user, we call this a page impression.
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Q: What is an ad impression?
A: Impressions are how most web advertising is sold and the cost is quoted in terms of the cost per thousand impressions (CPM) This is the equivalent of impacts in radio or insertions in print media.
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Q: What does CPM mean?
A CPM is the equivalent of a CPT in other media . (However because digital media is unique, we like to have our own terms for things!) CPM means cost per mille or thousand and is a media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges £1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of £15 (£1,500 divided by 100).
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Q: What is a page display?
A: When a page is successfully displayed on the user's computer screen.
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Q: What is a unique user?
A: A single individual website visitor. All the external measurement companies (MMXI, Netvalue and Nielsen) have panels that measure unique users. A unique user is the equivalent to a unique reader of a magazine title. ie unique users online are comparable to readership figures in print media.
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Q: How is advertising charged on AOL?
A: Straight-forward advertising buys are built in terms of the cost per thousand impressions (CPM). Usually we quote on specific advertising briefs and costs are dependent on advertising format and channels selected. Bespoke advertising concepts are charged on a project by project basis. To discuss advertising opportunities on AOL and obtain a price quote please give us a call.
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Q: How much does it cost to advertise on AOL?
A: To advertise on AOL we will require a minimum spend of £5,000. The exception is AOL Shopping, where the minimum spend value does not apply. To discuss advertising opportunities on AOL and obtain a price quote please give us a call. All advertising is subject to AOL UK Standard Terms and Conditions for Advertising.
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Q: What are the lead times when it comes to booking an ad on AOL?
A: In order to ensure availability AOL recommend that advertisers book campaigns a minimum of 4 weeks in advance. When campaigns are booked at shorter notice, advertiser lead times from the point of booking to the commencement of the campaign are dependent on the delivery of the creative. You should allow at least five working days for rich media creatives, 3 working days for standard creatives from the point of supplying creative to AOL to the date you wish the campaign to start. If you wish to work with us to create a bespoke creative brand experience on AOL, please call for lead times and implementation details.
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Q: How do I become an AOL e-commerce partner?
A: If you want to sell your product (s) online, AOL's wide variety of e-commerce properties can provide a relevant solution. AOL will help you promote your online store and can offer you a prime location in an integrated and popular shopping environment. Click here for more information on Shopping.
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Q: How can I measure the effectiveness of online advertising?
A: As the Internet emerged as a marketing platform in the late '90s, it offered a distinct advantage to marketers. Unlike other media forms, the Internet enabled advertisers to trace the entire customer acquisition chain from impression to click to purchase. This allowed marketers to pinpoint the strengths and weaknesses of their media, creative, and product offers and optimize accordingly.

However, the high degree of focus on the direct response value of Internet media has led many advertisers to ignore online's efficacy as a branding and offline sales driver. According to Webtrends , only 20% of marketers have a comprehensive set of metrics to measure online campaign performance - a fact that suggests they are underestimating the Internet's full potential. (webtrends, 2005) However, there is an arsenal of recent studies which demonstrate that the Internet is, in fact, a powerful branding medium for ad effectiveness studies.
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Q: Can I run branding campaigns online?
A : Yes you can. There has been a noticeable advance in online creativity, with traditional agencies increasingly identifying digital solutions as the key to engaging with 21st century audiences. Online arguably provides the most important new opportunity for creative development since the birth of television advertising. A wide range of large, high impact formats can be used to create specific brand experiences for target audiences; new rich media technologies help drive the growing number of ground-breaking creative executions, providing strong stand out from competitors and engaging consumers more effectively.

Marketers who rely on advertising to communicate key facets of their brand to consumers must understand how their efforts are working in order to make educated decisions. Brand effectiveness has been measured for traditional media for some time, and the same methodologies are also appropriate for measuring the branding value of online marketing efforts. New European research, conducted by the EIAA, allows the contribution and effectiveness of online advertising to be benchmarked against traditional marketing metrics 1.

Over a sample of 200 separate campaigns from 2002 to 2004, with a customer base of over 160,000 tested against a control group, major improvements were seen in each of the following areas:

  • Brand awareness, up 5.4%
  • Advertising recall, up 45.3%
  • Brand favourability, up 5.6%
  • Message association, up 21.6%
  • Purchase intention, up 5%

Lately, new methodologies as promoted by Brain Juicer are gaining widespread support.

Brainjuicer offer a number of products all with a grounding in cognitive psychology based around the power of association. These products can be used for a range of needs from testing advertising creative concepts through to producing 'mind maps' investigating what consumers think and feel about a brand. AOL has recently employed BrainJuicer's mapping techniques to track our members perceptions and feelings about a recently launched FMCG product. We would envisage offering this service to future advertisers where certain criteria are met, i.e. a microsite is part of the advertising solution, is of sufficient weight to ensure robust sample sizes and has display advertising to ensure enough through traffic to the microsite.
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Q : What are 'click-through' or 'ad-click' rates?
A: Click-through is the percentage of viewers who click on an online advertisement. Advertisers should not measure the effectiveness of a campaign simply by analysing the click-through. Click-through has been discredited as a single measure for the response rate of an online campaign because a viewer is typically exposed to an advert several times as a campaign builds frequency. This means that counting the clicks rather than the users gives a false impression. Secondly, click-through rates vary dramatically depending on the objective of the campaign and the creative.
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Q: What is a 'view-through'?
A metric that describes website activity that occurs when a user has been exposed to, but did not click on, an online advertisement, visits the website later on by typing in the URL or any other method and performs an activity designated by the advertiser as a conversion.
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Q: How can I find out how well my campaign is doing?
A: Advertisers can access our online reporting facility, CPR (Client Performance Reporting) which can allow the user to create bespoke reports for every individual's requirements. The reports can provide details of creative placements, daily impressions, click-throughs and a variety of other metrics. AOL provides each advertiser with a special password to CPR once a campaign has begun. Click here for further info on the monitoring of advertising campaigns.
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Q: Rich Media: What are Rich Media Adverts?
A: A method of communication that incorporates animation, sound, video, and/or interactivity. It can be used either singularly or in combination with the following technologies: streaming media, sound, Flash, and with programming languages such as Java, Javascript, and DHTML. It is deployed via standard Web and wireless applications including e-mail, Web design, banners, buttons, and interstitials.
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Q: How large is the UK's online advertising market?
A: The IAB runs the only audit of advertising expenditure in the UK. They work with PricewaterhouseCoopers to collect confidential sales data, aggregating it into totals that are published half yearly.
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Q: If I want to discuss possible sponsorship or branded content opportunities, what do I do?
Please contact AOL's dedicated creative solutions team who focus on ways to align advertisers with existing AOL assets, or alternatively create bespoke new mechanisms that will deliver benefits for both our advertisers and AOL members.
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Q: What advertising formats are available?
A: Some people perceive this as a confusing area of digital media. However, in online, there are just a series of different sizes in the same way that you would find different sized advertisements in print and outdoor media. Take a look at our Media showcase format gallery to see the wide range of formats available (link to format gallery)
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Q: What is the difference between an ISP and a portal?
A: A portal is a web site that typically provides services such as search, directory of Web sites, news, weather, e-mail, homepage space, stock quotes, sports news, entertainment, telephone directory information, area maps, and chat or message boards.

An ISP (Internet service provider) connects you to the world of information you are looking for online. An ISP site varies in the range of custom content it offers. Some ISP web sites are dedicated to providing support information for their customers and they only offer custom content to their subscribers. Other ISPs have web sites that provide a variety of custom content which is available to all, on top of linking you to the internet eg Tiscali, Wanadoo.
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Q: Where do AOL get their editorial content from?
A: Content for the exclusive AOL subscriber service comes from a number of sources and is a combination of:

  • Original bespoke content created by our award winning team of AOL editors, designers and producers
  • Third party content from specially chosen partners of AOL, designed to provide our members with best in class information, analysis and entertainment from the market leaders

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Q: What forms of audience targeting can AOL currently offer?
A: All areas of the online industry are constantly evolving and audience targeting is no different. Great strides are being made in geographic, demographic and behavioural targeting. To find out just what AOL can do and discuss opportunities in this area, get in touch.
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